Iowa Registered Nurse: 36 Hours Needed
Iowa nurses are required to renew their licenses by the 15th of their birth month every 3 years. Nurses (RN, LPN) must have 36 contact hours or 3.6 continuing education units (CEUs) to renew every three years. Renewal of licenses issued for less than three years require 24 contact hours or 2.4 CEUs. R.N.’s treating dependent adults or children in Iowa are required to complete an abuse recognition reporting course every 5 years.
If the licensee is renewing for the first time, they will be required to complete 24 hours of continuing education.
Courses will be accepted if offered or approved by one of the following:
- The Iowa Board of Nursing
- Program submitted for individual approval by licensee
- A national nursing organization (i.e. the ANCC, AANP, etc.)
- Any state board of Nursing
Please check your wallet card or the Online Verification System to determine your license expiration date.
A licensee may renew a license beginning 60 days prior to the license expiration date on the wallet card.
- For example: if a license expires on January 15 that license can be renewed on November 15.
Licensees are encouraged to renew over the Internet using MasterCard, VISA or Discover. Online renewals are processed immediately by the computer program. Click on IBON Online Services to renew online.
If you are unable to renew over the Internet, you may contact the board office in writing to request that a paper form be mailed to you, e-mail Iowa Board of Nursing or call 515.281.4826. Please include name, current address, license number or social security number with your request. The mailing address is: Iowa Board of Nursing, 400 S.W. 8th Street, Suite B, Des Moines, Iowa 50309-4685.
Iowa law requires that the renewal be completed 30 days prior to expiration. The board has elected to not impose a monetary penalty for missing this deadline, but the later the renewal is received the more likely it becomes that the new license will not be in hand by the time the old one expires. Also, if a paper renewal cannot be processed as received, and must be returned to the licensee for any reason, and if it is then resubmitted and received after the 15th of the birth month, it is considered a late renewal; there will be an additional $50 late fee. (The Postmark on the envelope is not taken into consideration when determining if a renewal is late.)
Renewals that are received on the 16th of the birth month and prior to the 16th of the following month are considered late renewals, requiring payment of the $50 late fee in addition to the $99 renewal fee. The date received in the Board office is the date used to determine if the renewal is late. The date the envelope is postmarked is not taken into consideration.
Board of Nursing rules do not prohibit the practice of nursing during the 30 day grace period. However, the employer has the prerogative to prohibit practice during this time frame.
Licensees may continue to obtain continuing education during the 30 days after expiration, but anyone renewing late will be audited.
Board staff does not have the authority to waive the $50 late fee. A licensee may submit a Petition for Waiver of the late fee for review by the board.