Florida Advanced Practice Registered Nurse: 22 Hours Needed
Initial Licensure and First Renewal
- A one-time requirement of one (1) hour of HIV/AIDS is needed prior to first renewal
- Visit the APRN renewal page at Florida Board of Nursing for details regarding first renewal
Every Renewal Period Post First Renewal
- 13 general hours
- Two (2) hours relating to prevention of medical errors.
- Two (2) hours relating to Florida laws and rules.
- Two (2) hours relating to human trafficking.
- Three (3) hours of Safe and Effective Prescription of Controlled Substances
- Must be offered by a statewide professional association of physicians in this state accredited to provide educational activities designated for the American Medical Association Physician’s Recognition Award Category 1 credit, the American Nurses Credentialing Center, the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists, or the American Association of Nurse Practitioners and may be offered in a distance learning format.
Select Renewal Periods Post First Renewal
- Two (2) hours of domestic violence CE every third renewal in addition to the standard 24 hours, making a total of 26 hours that renewal period
Florida Board of Nursing Rule Change
Effective 8/1/2017, APRNs will be required to take two (2) hours relating to recognizing impairment in the workplace every other renewal. During the renewal periods that would include this requirement, only 16 general hours of CE will be required.
Florida is a member of the enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact, allowing for practice in specific states with only a single state’s license. Details can be found here.
Advanced Practive Registered Nurses renew in three different groups. Group 1 renews April 30 of even numbered years. Group 2 renews July 31 of even numbered years. group 3 expires on April 30 of odd numbered years. Fees and documentation for license renewal can be paid through mail or on the FL Board of Nursing website. Florida APRN’s must check and make sure their CE hours have been appropriately reported to CE Broker.
Steps To Complete
- Complete required continuing education hours.
- Complete renewal information and application and pay your appropriate renewal fee for desired license status by mail or online.
- Check CE Broker to make sure all CE hours have been appropriately reported.
FL Board approved CE providers are required to report completed hours within 60 days of the date of completion. If you take a course approved by another state board, you will need to self report the course on cebroker.com.